TINZ Annual General Meeting

Transparency International New Zealand (TINZ) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 18 November. The AGM was entirely online again this year due to COVID-19 restrictions. It ran flawlessly thanks to chief organiser Lexi Mills, Chair Anne Tolley, Returning Officer Jane Mitson, CEO Julie Haggie and Chelsea Cain.

Highlights included a farewell from Patron Lyn Provost, welcome to new Patron Dame Patsy Reddy, presentation of the annual report from Julie Haggie, the board election and awarding of two lifetime memberships.


Seven candidates stood for five positions at this year’s election of Directors to the TINZ Board. As in previous years, we used online election software  “ElectionRunner”, which was very effective. The turnout was 60% or 87 members. 

It was a close run election.  Returning Officer Jane Mitson commented that the process was robust and defensible.

Ann Webster, Adam Hunt and John Hall were re-elected to three year terms and the Board welcomes newcomers Debbie Gee and Alan McDonald.

We thank candidates Dan Wildy and Jamison Johnson who stood for the Director role and missed out. All candidates were of the highest calibre.

Annual Report

The 2021 Transparency International New Zealand (TINZ) Annual Report was provided to members at the Annual General Meeting. TINZ is very proud of its year of progress as reflected in this report. The good results have been achieved through a combination of expert volunteer input, paid staff and good governance.

New Patron Dame Patsy Reddy

Dame Dame Patsy Reddy was announced as Transparency International New Zealand's latest patron.


Departing patron Lyn Provost and departing board member Stephanie Hopkins were voted life members for their contributions to TINZ.

In highlighting Lyn’s contributions, Ann Webster noted:

 “Lyn has always been, uncomfortably at times. straight shooting. She has also always been completely loyal to the people and organisations that she has chosen to gift her time and attention to. TINZ has been remarkably fortunate to enjoy her support, first as Controller and Auditor-General and, for the last three years as Patron.
“It has been my privilege to have known and worked with Lyn since 2009 and now to be able to thank you, Lyn on behalf of TINZ for your leadership of our mission for New Zealand’s integrity ethics, and transparency.”

Our sincere thanks also to Stephanie Hopkins who steps down from the Board this year. 

Stephanie made an enormous contribution to the TINZ journey as Treasurer and Chair of Audit and Risk Committee, as well as member of the Personnel Committee and the Pacific team.  Stephanie also worked for a short period as the Executive Officer.  Stephanie has provided a critical governance role in guiding the organisation towards financial and operational sustainability.  

Brendon commented at the AGM that Stephanie combines 'Principle with Practicality'.  She is a very good strategist and fierce advocate for truth, accuracy and doing the right thing.  She has a prodigious work ethic.


If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants. (Newton)

Moe mai ra moe mai ra e Rangatira.

We remember and honour three former leaders of TINZ who each made a unique contribution to the formation and work of TINZ.   

Michael Morris ONZM DFInstD was the inaugural Chair of Transparency International New Zealand when it was formed in 1999 and was a life member.   Michael had a distinguished career including being chair of KPMG NZ, and was a founding partner in the modern Te Mata Estate.  He performed governance roles with NZ Post, the Land Transport Safety Authority, Port of Napier, Momentum Consulting, the Karori Wildlife Sanctuary and the Wellington City Mission. He became an Officer of the New Zealand Order of merit in 1997 for services to business and the community.   Michael died in 2019.

John Luxton CNZM QSO was a New Zealand National Party politician, serving as a Member of Parliament from 1987 to 2002.   He was also Chairman of DairyNZ, and co-chair of the Waikato River Authority. He served on the TINZ Board from 2008-2011.  John died in November 2021.

Trevor Roberts was elected to the Board around 2007-2008 and served until 2011.  He contributed governance and knowledge to TINZ in many areas, and chaired a Board sub-committee reviewing money laundering legislation ahead of strong advocacy on that point.  He also chaired the Membership Committee in 2007-08.  Trevor was a lawyer, Elder of the Presbyterian Church of New Zealand and an active advocate and lobbyist.  He gave service of his skills and knowledge to New Zealand in many areas including the Insurance Council of New Zealand, the Earthquake Commission, and the National Kidney Foundation of New Zealand and then Kidney Health NZ.  Trevor died in October 2020.

Blog Post written by:
No items found.